Tags

, , , , , ,

My friends are by far the source of my inspiration. To hear their dreams and to witness them pursue them allows me to gain the motivation to pursue and accomplish my own career goals. There’s a sense of beauty in watching others overcome hurdles to succeed.

When someone asks me, “Ma’Lanee, who do you admire?” I never respond with a specific name. I would say “anyone fighting for a dream”. Facing adversity and beating the odds is the most inspirational thing a person can do. No matter if his or her dreams are big or small, it’s the fact that he or she attempts to work towards them.

Anyone who knows me personally, knows that I never aspired to be a writer. In fact, I hated writing. I always get writers block when I am assigned research assignments by my instructors. It wasn’t until I began business writing for companies in 2010 that I began to enjoy writing. I like writing material that I am interested in. In high school, I can name only a few writing assignments that I actually enjoyed: my senior project on Kurt Vonnegut’s artistic talents, my senior summer project on Native Son by Richard Wright, and my 9th grade project on my career aspirations to become a Radiation Oncologist.

I don’t want to be an author, although I love writing. I can’t see myself doing it every single day, or even enough to make a successful career from writing, but when I am inspired by something worth writing then I will. Hopefully I will find more inspirations in the future.

Wish me luck.

