Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I probably could post several subjects that are related to Francis Chan’s Crazy Love. It really did change my outlook on how I lead my life and how to embrace others. Honestly, I’ve always wanted to be able to sit down with a group of homeless people -just to hear their stores- but I really feared how they would embrace me. Most people enjoy being around me, but I wouldn’t want anyone to feel like I look down on them or pity them. I’m hoping that I can do that soon.

I’m getting off topic already, back to the purpose of this entry. In Crazy Love, Chan speaks of a particular kind of giving. I don’t have the book around me to quote what exactly he said but it was about giving to strangers who do not love you rather than your loved ones because when you do good deeds for your loved ones, you almost always know that you will be paid back at in one way or another. I can admit that I know people who boast about how they give to others. I’ve probably done it at some point myself, but as Chan and the bible say it doesn’t really mean anything when you’re giving to someone whom you love and loves you back because you will most likely be repaid. Giving to someone who does not love you and may not ever love you speaks volumes because you’re doing something out of the goodness of your heart.

Believe it or not, alot of us say that we do things out of the goodness of our hearts but it’s really not seen that way. I’ve personally seen worse than that, I know someone who moans and complains every single time that someone asks her to do a favor, but when she’s the one in need, she expects to be repaid and usually asks more than she’s ever given. Like if she give you  a car ride down the street, she expects you to pay for her road trip to a different state. This is no exaggeration. It’s really sad because if you say no to her the first thing she does is throw everything that she has ever done for you back in your face. She’ll tell a bunch of other people what she’s done for you and also bring up things that she did decades ago to make herself look better. It’s disgusting.

It only reconfirms my reasons for being more inclined to help strangers than family members or friends because they almost feel entitled at times, and sometimes it’s for things that they simply do not need. Family expects you to be understand that they want to take their family on a vacation rather than a stranger needing food or change.

Think about this: try to estimate all of the money that you’ve given to family members, friends, co-workers, etc. to help them for things that they simply did not need (ex./ to get a newer model car, to go on a vacation, to buy Christmas gifts), now think about how that money could’ve went to help a complete stranger (get clothes, a place to stay, or food).

