Tags

, , , , , ,

DGL = Dear God Letters

It started with my mother and grandmother, then it became therapeutic for me to have some place to invest my most intimate thoughts and feelings that I am sure that God already knows. I often ask God for guidance when my anxiety is high or I have a decision to make. Sometimes I vent, or ask for forgiveness.

Throughout the day, my mind tends to run amok in ideas, worries, to-do-lists and memories. The best way to cope with it is to write a letter to God to at least allow the anxiety to subside. I’ve never kept a journal or diary. I just write to the only person who can keep a secret and eventually shred the evidence.

Now, I think that I should’ve kept them because it would have been something to look back on and see where I got my inner strength during a certain time.

