Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve said it before. I am not the type of person who goes to church on a regular basis. I don’t like the group setting, the long sermons, the fashion shows, the singing, excuses, excuses, excuses.

I was elated when I found out that I did not have to attend church to maintain a close relationship with God. I don’t know how someone could possibly yearn for a close relationship with him and cringe at the thought of entering a church. In my last post about churches (click here to read), I highlighted some of the reasons why I did not like attending churches.

God must have had a message for me because I decided to watch Reverend Charles Stanley last Saturday and he shared his views on those who do not attend church. He said that the only exclusions were the disabled and those who are not living near a reputable church. Other than that there was no other reason.

Churches are able to re-enforce what you read in the bible. The ministers can break down God’s word to our basic understanding and advise us on the right path with God. In other words, the church serves a spiritual doctor to the broken. When I thought about it, I could understand why I NEED to go to church. My particular need came from the fact that I had a lot of things that I questioned but I failed to have them answered. If Google did not offer the answer then it went into the archives of my brain.

Now, I realize the importance of the church and although some of the American Christian Churches are polluted with fakes and negativity, we should not allow that to get in the way of our relationship with God. Maybe one day I’ll have a change of heart, or be directed to a church that suits my needs.

