Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I heard about this last year when innovator and Apple creator Steve Jobs lost his battle with pancreatic cancer. As my home pages, news feeds, and dashboards overflowed with Steve’s photos, the picture above made it’s way down my Tumblr dashboard.

At first, I thought that it was an angry activist who disliked the fact that Steve Jobs operated a multi-billion dollar business but failed to donate money towards education and hunger, or to compensate his workers fairly. It wasn’t until I looked into it that I realized the arguments of the people who support the statement “One dies, Million Cry; Million Die, No one cries”.

When I look at this photo, I don’t think about what Steve Jobs failed to do, I think about what I can still do. Collectively, we could change the status quo of world hunger, but instead we invest in other things  -like the latest Apple product. Some of us are just making ends meet in order to feed ourselves. It’s a depressing situation to think about. The blame goes to everyone who can afford to help but does not. It’s too easy to point the finger at the million and billionaires who could easily cut into their large net worth to help, but how can we complain when we contribute to the issue.

We show compassion towards celebrities who die (some of preventable things like drug addiction), while we are nonchalant about the millions of children who die from hunger and diseases caused from starvation, which is preventable. We push these thoughts to the back of our minds with a “Oh, well this has been happening for years. What can my little contribution do?”, when we could work together to find a solution. We see the T.V. commercials, but really, it’s easier to say that our monies should go elsewhere because of our uncertainty of donating to a money hungry organization who profits from the money, while very little goes to the cause.

It’s devastating. It should be easier for us to identify with those in need because we are one step away from that rather than we could are of reaching fame and fortune. I think the founders of “One dies, Million Cry; Million Die, No one cries” got their point across.

Whether it’s in America or a third world country, WE are starving.

